Chan, Pret-a-Blogger

Top Street Style Looks From The Fashion Weeks

Tommy Ton is a celebrated fashion photographer and blogger. His discerning eye captures the best of street fashion from Tokyo to NY. His favourite subjects are usually the stylish editors of the fashion magazines and some of the most stylish people in the glamour circuit. I love looking through his journals and marveling at the creativity of the fashion people.

I have always had a great passion for fashion and I really admire people who have personal style. This is a very different thing from doing what is trendy. I sometimes wish I was working in the fashion industry or living in a very fashionable city like Paris.

We tend to focus on what everyone is doing and wearing what everyone else does and if you wear something even slightly different people look at you as if you have escaped from an asylum. This happened to me when I wore a pair of wide leg pants last week. Its a very classic pair of black pants which I have had for years and I decided to wear it  because I was sick of all the skinny jeans and cigarette pants. But the moment I walked in the men did a double take and the women ( in skinny jeans ) looked at me suspiciously.

In my country if you look at magazines or from South Asia for that matter and even famous celebrities, everyone dresses in the same way, they have no personal style. They are undoubtedly fashionable but they have no signature. It is not always about matching everything to a T and then having nothing out of place. It is not also about copying the looks off the runways or a magazine layout. Despite the money and the access to all this everyone tends to dress is a predictable fashion. If you go to a party there is a 99% chance the women will all have ironed or blow dried hair with waves at the bottom. You will hardly find a girl who dares to let her curls be. I don’t think we celebrate diversity much. I read some fashion blogs from Asia and I laugh when I see the comments the moment someone wears something a little different to the norm. If you do not wear a ball gown to an award ceremony then people bash that person. I remember Angelina Jolie came in a pantsuit for the Oscars and killed it.

Each season the designers give us so many options. It is time we try and do what is intended with all of it, have fun!

I have picked some very diverse looks from Tommy Ton’s  photographs of the fashion week attendees and you could see how very very different each one is. Their individuality shines through because they look so perfectly at ease. I love these highly personal artistically curated looks. Someone asked me once when I was watching a fashion show , “Who on earth would wear these things and how?”

Well this is how.

All images courtesy Tommy Ton from style.com

05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-02 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-07 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-08 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-16 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-17 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-19 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-20 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-22 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-27 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-28 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-29 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-33 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-38 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-40 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-41 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-46 05-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-47 06-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-05 06-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-07 06-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-10 06-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-15 07-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-03 07-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-04 07-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-10 08-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-0708-fall-2015-ready-to-wear-street-style-14

12 thoughts on “Top Street Style Looks From The Fashion Weeks”

  1. I love street style because of the freedom it encourages for individuals. My own style leans more towards ‘street’ because I find a lot of comfort there, and if there is one thing I absolutely require when wearing anything, it’s comfort. The ease of the bootleg, the balance of the wedge (never found it difficult to manage) Experimenting with street style is also fun, there is just so much you can borrow from if you wish to, or get inspired with, add something, leave it off next time… do chic, casual, casual/chic. Limitless really.

    Such a great post. You nailed it!

    Xoxo

    Like

  2. Chani that collection looked so wearable, could not believe tthat was off an exclusive runway. I agree with Anne…admire those who are able to work wonders with streetwear, the pairing, accessorizing & the confidence to carry it off sans attitude.

    Like

Leave a Comment

