Santa Baby!

Christmas songs are all over the radio, and I am sure like everyone else I anxiously wait for my favourites.. like I’ll be Home for Christmas, Silent Night, White Christmas etc.. but there is another one that always gets me and that is “Santa Baby”.

Now, the first time I heard this, I was quite young and didn’t really understand the lyrics ( not that you could Google it those days) and at first I was intrigued as to why this woman was calling Santa (whom at that time I considered purely a kid’s person… he brings gifts for kids FFS. ) He was an old man so why was this woman calling him “Baby” !?!

Then much later I learnt the lyrics by listening to the song over and over again, and it seemed as if the lady was asking for gifts after all, and at first I thought her damn list was much better than mine. Sables, 54 convertible, platinum mine, duplex, Tiffany ornaments! Hell, I was smacking myself for asking for a Barbie.

But, there was always something about that song that seemed to make the adults in the room  a bit squirmy. But I was an innocent (still am) and simply chalked it up to me not thinking ‘Big’ and resolving to ask for ‘real’ presents next time, like a car for example, even though it would take me at least ten more years to be able to drive it.

A few more years later, after I had learnt what a fantastic thing sarcasm was and also a lot more about the birds and the bees, my vivid mind began to conjure up all sorts of things when the radio cooed “hurry down the chimney” (does it mean that? Yes.) Basically what this woman wants is a sugar daddy… the fact that from the time Eartha Kitt did this song, to today, every version depicts a very sexy woman in very suggestive body language teasing Santa to give her the most expensive things in the world ( in my earlier notes I forgot to mention a yacht) .

‘Think of all the fun I’ve missed,

Think of all the fellas that I haven’t kissed,

Next year I could be just as good”

The implication is that she has been very very good to deserve all this, but really she has been very very naughty. I imagine that when this came out in the 50’s it would have caused quite an uproar, but I was surprised to learn that it was an instant hit.

If you look back in history that was a time when women were homemakers and husbands were the breadwinners, and for those blasphemous few who do no believe in Santa (gasps!) He was the husband. The gifts were bought by him (another song which hints at this is ‘I saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus’) so maybe this woman is actually singing this to her husband. Maybe this is the way to hint to your very own Santa what you want for Christmas?

Or maybe ‘Santa’ is the plumber and looks like Jake from Melrose Place (who wouldn’t want their pipes cleaned by him??? I mean the chimney.) Okay, so maybe not a plumber, but whatever you call that profession which cleans women’s pipes… NOT a Gyno. (Yikes) but you know what I mean.

So,  I give you two versions, the original and my favourite one by Miss Piggy.

Santa Baby – Miss Piggy

Santa Baby! “Original Song 1953” Eartha Kitt

Lyrics

“Santa Baby, slip a sable under the tree, For me.
been an awful good girl, Santa baby,
so hurry down the chimney tonight.

Santa baby, a 54 convertible too,
Light blue.
I’ll wait up for you dear,
Santa baby, so hurry down the chimney tonight.

Think of all the fun I’ve missed,
Think of all the fellas that I haven’t kissed,
Next year I could be just as good,
If you’ll check off my Christmas list,

Santa baby, I wanna yacht,
And really that’s not a lot,
Been an angel all year,
Santa baby, so hurry down the chimney tonight.

Santa honey, there’s one thing I really do need,
The deed
To a platinum mine,
Santa honey, so hurry down the chimney tonight.

Santa cutie, and fill my stocking with a duplex,
And checks.
Sign your ‘X’ on the line,
Santa cutie, and hurry down the chimney tonight.

Come and trim my Christmas tree,
With some decorations bought at Tiffany’s,
I really do believe in you,
Let’s see if you believe in me,

Santa baby, forgot to mention one little thing,
A ring.
I don’t mean on the phone,
Santa baby, so hurry down the chimney tonight,
Hurry down the chimney tonight,
Hurry, tonight.”

-*-

DECEMBER DELIGHTS HOLIDAY SWAG

WEEK THREE

ENTER & WIN!

 10841644_10152567370642362_1608786438_nmbymosh.wordpress.com

For a chance to win this trendy statement from the extremely talented and fashionable Shalini aka @1Mosh1 of the amazing DIY blog Metamorphoshiz.

1. Like our Facebook page and let us know you did via a comment there or here – (One entry)

2. Share this post using one of the buttons below, and post the linkback in the comment box so we know who you are. – Your name gets entered once for every social media button you use, so share using as many of the ones listed or simply re-tweet us on Twitter. (Limited to one entry per button, not # of times shared)

3. Leave a comment in the box below to let us know why you like this post (repeat comments by readers will be counted as one entry)

*Giveaway delivery available in India only.*

The winner will be announced on Monday December 22, and will be entered in our December Delights Bumper Draw !

-*-

_______________________________________________________________

IMG_0124 Chan is a writer, blogger and yogi with a passion for history and romance. She is a management professional living in the beautiful paradise island of Sri Lanka with her husband and two furry soft toys she refuses to part with, much to his chagrin. An avid reader and health food junkie, she also loves to keep up-to-date with fashion trends, travel and binge on everything chocolate at the slightest excuse.

On Deranged Writers Chan writes her personal blog Whispered Monologues, as well as the popular fashion feature Pret-a-Blogger. – Follow Chan on Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest.

______________________________________________________________

 

8 thoughts on “Santa Baby!

  1. these lines and the word big , “But I was an innocent (still am) and simply chalked it up to me not thinking ‘Big’ ….”

    ^^ This couldn’t be an innocent coincidence.

    but yeah i be keeping my Santa dreams far far away from this song,….I will rather he hand me the barbies.

    A bunny suit with this song…..

    Like

Leave a Comment

