Anne, Celebrations, Christmas 2014, December Delights

Holiday Mania

Today, we’re exactly ten days to Christmas Eve, and as you all can see, this little fact has begun to have its usual effect on Chan.

Mania.

It began with the shoes, or rather, shoessssssssssss!!! and I knew the last shreds of sanity were leaving her. Then, last night when I logged into DW, I saw her latest ‘Red Alert!’ post and actually paused for a second. That of course cannot be helped, because I am from Karachi where we’re conditioned to think the worst when we see such headlines. Did ‘Red Alert’ mean the blog was about to explode? Had Rudolph strapped on a suicide vest to get even with the rest of the reindeer who made fun of him? Were cricketers in other countries also turning to rabble-rousing politics and encouraging their nations to party under the guise of protest? What was happening?

Thankfully, her post turned out to be about nail polish, Christian Louboutin’s famous red sole, and how Christmas is red whereas the other day it was a Tiffany blue. Noticing the swiftly changing moods, my worst fears were confirmed. The Christmas Crazies have gotten Chan!

Brace yourselves, because there is no turning back.

Also, I’m there for you all (and at great risk to my clothes closet might I add), and I will help you cope. Promise.

Over time I’ve learned there’s really no other way to deal with Chan’s manic love for all things Christmas, except if one is slightly tipsy, or well and truly drunk. That way when her mania grabs you and attempts to drown you in peppermint scented lipgloss and Holiday ‘must haves’ from every designer known to womenkind, you don’t mind so much because you’re already drowning in buckets of egg nog.

As you can see, I’m not so good at making excuses for drinking during the holidays (and shamelessly blame Chan for all my own shortcomings). However, I’m better at making cocktails and handing them out to everyone.

So, sticking to the current theme from my friend who among other things adds big splashes of (fashionable) colour to my life, here’s some red for all of you and her.

Sláinte!

085140852d31dfe6d59a3f8c6e9e0261Honey-crisp Apple Sangria

491ed1ea1456a17636813f73d36de9ecRaspberry Lychee Sorbet (Champagne Float)

f6a0a93a71a58e3ce0abc8e87bb549d9Cranberry Gin Fizz

896085a80f611ec7e588403d683fdd54Raspberry Ginger Belini

c50b5610223954ef0f2c9ce4c7a09c5bPomegranate Champagne

*Click pictures for recipes. – All images courtesy of Pinterest.

-*-

DECEMBER DELIGHTS HOLIDAY SWAG

WEEK TWO

ENTER & WIN!

 unnamed222https://www.facebook.com/dezertstorment

For a chance to win these fantastic offers from our friends at Dezert Storm Media Group all the way over in sunny Florida, you can do any one of the following.

1. Like our Facebook page and let us know you did via a comment there or here – (One entry)

2. Share this post using one of the buttons below, and post the linkback in the comment box so we know who you are – Your name gets entered once for every social media button you use, so share using as many of the ones listed. (Limited to one entry per button, not # of times shared)

3. Leave a comment in the box below to let us know why you like this post (repeat comments by readers will be counted as one entry)

The winner will be announced TONIGHT and will be entered in our December Delights Bumper Draw !

-*-

______________________________________________________________________

anneblog

 Anne is a fiction writer and blogger, and a former hotelier living in the sprawling coastal city of Karachi, Pakistan, with her husband, two kids and a pet fish. A city girl at heart, she likes her coffee strong, books always within arm’s reach, perfumes by the boatload, music of the old school variety, beaches sans the crowds, cozy cafes early in the mornings, and intimate encounters with Jack Daniels on Saturday nights.

On Deranged Writers, Anne writes her personal blog Eight in the Morning, and the humorous feature Pillow Talk.

Follow Anne on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and Pinterest.

______________________________________________________________________

 

15 thoughts on “Holiday Mania”

  1. Hehehhehehehehe this is all YOUR fault for abandoning me and leaving me with no one to talk to 😱. I just stocked my bar and yesterday while i stood outside the store staring at an 18 year old Glenfiddich i snapped.

    Like

  2. Hehehe Anne tight tight hugs and lots of kisses to u…. I just love ur post…. it was full of Anne-ness in it. I haven’t told but when I read RED ALERT I was quite frightened myself. Thought of all possibiliy wrong things which could have alerted the red alert… but turned out to b a sexy sleek nail polish.

    Brace yourselves, because there is no turning back.

    Also, I’m there for you all (and at great risk to my clothes closet might I add), and I will help you cope. Promise.

    😀 savior our hero our Anne

    Over time I’ve learned there’s really no other way to deal with Chan’s manic love for all things Christmas, except if one is slightly tipsy, or well and truly drunk. That way when her mania grabs you and attempts to drown you in peppermint scented lipgloss and Holiday ‘must haves’ from every designer known to womenkind, you don’t mind so much because you’re already drowning in buckets of egg nog.

    Omg this one really made me ROFL… oh god!

    And the cocktails oh my I love them all n want to drink them all wheres the recipe Anne? Not fair sharingvthe pics n not how to make them… I so want to have them all

    P.S love Chani’s Christmas mania looking fwd to it coz honestly I have no complaints love to see good stuff 😀

    Love u Anne loadsssssss
    Muaaah :*

    Like

  3. You had me at Raspberry Ginger Bellini….but then again Raspberry Lychee Sorbet sounds good too….tell you what….I am going to be looking up the drinks, making them and tasting and will get back to you….I was wondering what I could do different over the holidays…lol

    By the way Anne – Christmas in San Francisco is the plan….May be you can write about it

    Like

Leave a Comment

