Anne, Celebrations, Christmas 2014, December Delights

Holiday Decor: Have Yourself a Harry Winston Christmas

It was quite a long time ago when I was just into my teens and overheard a conversation between two women which went something like this.

First woman: I love your ring.

Second woman: Thank you.

First woman: Is it a real diamond?

Second woman (smirking slightly): Yes, but obviously not a Harry Winston one.

At the time I didn’t understand why the first woman looked as blank as I felt at that statement, and of course I wondered who this Harry Winston guy was. It wasn’t till some time later when I was flipping through a magazine and saw a bracelet consisting of seven 20-30 carat diamonds with the caption ‘Designed and executed by the House of Harry Winston’ that I actually understood what that woman had meant all those years ago.

‘Brilliant’ would be an inadequate choice to describe the beauty of that piece of jewelry, and even to my completely untrained eye, the craftsmanship was par excellence, although I couldn’t have even formed that coherent a thought at the time, it was just a feeling.

I became an instant fan and follower. I read anything I could about the jewel legend, searched the glossy pages of magazines for his ads, and later began to play ‘Spot a Harry Winston on a celebrity’ most of whom I noticed loved to wear his work.

Of course none of that has anything to do with Christmas, but as I was unwrapping endless strings of fairy lights for my tree this year, and pondering color schemes and themes for my home’s Holiday decor, I began to daydream of glittering ornaments and sparkling table settings, subtle touches of brilliance here and there. Then, I began to think how awesome it would be if the people from the House of HW sent over some boxes of bejewelled decorations and Christmas diamond ornaments, and maybe a ring or two… and a bracelet, and earrings, and…

You get the point.

For now, I think I’ll just enjoy being inspired by all that glamour and magnificence, and hope you do too.

Happy decorating! Dream big, use colour, make it all sparkle, and have yourself a Harry Winston Christmas time.

Diamonds and Pearls

6a265d4ffcda218718218440f6ee67fa55908c4f960869a5c1a467403d57cbed

Snowflakeschris-natrop-harry-winston-holiday-new-york-facade8-1641-600x4008e458d0e0802ac1ed54105254219a208

Emeralds and Diamonds

910e450f4ec0652793027c61b35d8e35

ba048e8d6cbaf3b42cb804f9178e8e8221ece6e072e1eab71a9dd012960f30d2

Sapphires and Diamonds

560ca8c88fcd725ea75124714fae4c25ffa2fd15fd9270a77026f248ebed347e

Diamonds and Rubies

1ee6302ebef81c046f7d86ca8245f77aedef05cfcf2fa6f2a4c55a3f3e4cef36

Just Diamonds

6ecb7bde1708d9d8cc15d430e4767f52044afa059ff50ceb19aa17f2e857b31a

-*-

DECEMBER DELIGHTS HOLIDAY SWAG

WEEK TWO

ENTER & WIN!

 unnamed222https://www.facebook.com/dezertstorment

For a chance to win these fantastic offers from our friends at Dezert Storm Media Group all the way over in sunny Florida, you can do any one of the following.

1. Like our Facebook page and let us know you did via a comment there or here – (One entry)

2. Share this post using one of the buttons below, and post the linkback in the comment box so we know who you are – Your name gets entered once for every social media button you use, so share using as many of the ones listed. (Limited to one entry per button, not # of times shared)

3. Leave a comment in the box below to let us know why you like this post (repeat comments by readers will be counted as one entry)

The winner will be announced on Sunday December 14, 2014 and will be entered in our December Delights Bumper Draw !

-*-

______________________________________________________________________

anneblog

 Anne is a fiction writer and blogger, and a former hotelier living in the sprawling coastal city of Karachi, Pakistan, with her husband, two kids and a pet fish. A city girl at heart, she likes her coffee strong, books always within arm’s reach, perfumes by the boatload, music of the old school variety, beaches sans the crowds, cozy cafes early in the mornings, and intimate encounters with Jack Daniels on Saturday nights.

On Deranged Writers, Anne writes her personal blog Eight in the Morning, and the humorous feature Pillow Talk.

Follow Anne on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and Pinterest.

______________________________________________________________________

 

25 thoughts on “Holiday Decor: Have Yourself a Harry Winston Christmas”

    1. HW is in a class of its own. So is the powerhouse that is Tiffany, although on a completely different theme. I don’t compare the big names for just that reason, because they always ‘own’ their individual brands. Copycats and wannabes on the other hand are everywhere.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hahah! true! But I’m not a big fan of luxury jewellery brands, but when I am, I make sure it’s because of brands like Harry Winston. B| Comparing Tiffany’s with HW is like comparing Swarovski with the Venetian Murano Glass.

        Like

  1. These jewels are a dream … absolutely breathtaking …
    Now you’ve got me daydreaming of Harry Winston as Saint Nicholas going around gifting “some boxes of bejewelled decorations and Christmas diamond ornaments, and maybe a ring or two… and a bracelet, and earrings, and…” what if this dream came true !

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hitting the bed now , and I know what I am going to dream about.
    Give me that emerald and diamond beauty now.
    Have been following him since all the red carpet beauties prefer his creation. So many shout-outs on popular tv shows, the dreams it has spun .
    Uncle Santa , keep an ear out , k!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hi Anne, lovely sparkly post! (Funny I just did a vintage sparkly one but not Christmas related! Must be the time of year!) If you know Marilyn Monroe’s ‘Diamonds are a Girll’s Best Friend’ Harry Winston’s name pops up in the lyrics! Have a great festive season!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Have a glitzy Christmas.
    All glittery & sparkly.
    Yes the minute detail to every piece of Jewellery is exquisite.
    It’s Cut above the rest.
    Dreaming of those sparkly Baubles on my Christmas Tree.
    Chic.
    Glitzy Festivities.
    😉

    Like

  5. Anne – May be hard to believe but I did not know who or what Harry Winston was until now and I am not sure if I will ever forgive you for making me fall in love with jewelry I can not afford…lol.

    I am really not into diamonds or for that matter any jewelry but the sheer beauty of these pieces have made me crave them.

    Like

  6. You can’t just write this post and not have any HW presents for us. Come on, where is the Christmas love?! Haha just kidding 😛 A very glitterly post, loved it! Just beginning my 2 hours procrastination session on Pinterest now looking up festive ornaments (again), and of course HW! I blame this on the pictures in this post. I just love “gold” themed Christmas decor and the frost blue-diamondy colour decor! P.S. Hi! 🙂

    Like

  7. I know what you mean about scouring the magazines. There is something show stopping about these pieces and although the are perhaps affordable to the really rich we can certainly take a lot of inspiration from it, like how to make a true statement.

    The deco and the pieces blend perfectly, I dunno how you manage to find the most perfect pics.
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

