Celebrations, Christmas 2014, December Delights

Holiday Destination Wish List: A Big Apple Christmas

Something that stays constant on my personal wish list from when I was a kid, is to celebrate Christmas in New York, and why I haven’t gone ahead and planned to make it possible till now is really inexcusable.

There is so much about New York City which has always appealed to me. Maybe because I see it as a city that remains significant in so many ways, or because I live in a place where there is more hesitance to embrace diversity as they do in the Big Apple than there is willingness, or perhaps because city life is in my blood and the pulse of it beats strongest in New York. From the little things to everything, no one and everyone, Brooklyn and Staten Island, the Bronx to Manhattan, it is the place of extraordinary grandeur and class, the financial and cultural capital of the world, a creative hub which shines like a homing beacon for artists and connoisseurs alike. Splendour and magnificence in every form is available at every turn and tilt of the head, and where especially at Christmastime the world is truly shown why it is such an iconic city that towers over the rest.

I keep mentally adding to the wish to visit itself, and the things I would do (and force my family to do) when we finally make it there some December is going to take more than a month to accomplish for sure.

I can’t list them all (because really, the list is miles long,) but here are a few special places I would be and things I would do in the run up to Christmas in the Big Apple.

Bryant Park

1389061974@pond_bryant_parkThis is where I’d go first! There is something about being smack dab in the middle of a big city street block, just skating on ice that is wonderful. It appeals to my city girl senses in a big way.

061113_bryantpark1_560I heard there is this gorgeous Winter Village right there in Bryant Park, where they have kettle corn and hot chocolate so why in the world would I want to miss that right?

Le Parker Meridien’s Gingerbread Extravaganza

imageBecause gingerbread!

The Nutcracker – New York City Ballet

NutcrackerTree

13_Nutcracker_V1_460x28545

Christmas Carols at Washington Square Park

washing

Holiday Train Show at New York Botanical Garden

nyc-botanical-gardens-train-show

New York City Public Library

publib

Christmas Tree Lighting at Rockefeller Center

xmas_tree_AP111130065563

2480b946ba7b4e9bb767c07e1c5d7f75

City Streets, Fifth and Central Park

c7208a871903fd10fea6e7bf0ec38b42

street

xmas2012-5th-0

1-rolfs-christmas_650

free-christmas-central-park-new-york-wallpaper_1024x768_88122

NYC-Central-Park-in-the-Snow

The Plaza (But, naturally)

The-Plaza-New-York-City-Christmas-Tree-designed-by-Saks-Fifth-Avenue-Dario-Calmese-for-The-Plaza-6

Christmas New York hd wallpapers

-*-

DECEMBER DELIGHTS HOLIDAY SWAG

WEEK TWO

ENTER & WIN!

 unnamed222 https://www.facebook.com/dezertstorment

For a chance to win these fantastic offers from our friends at Dezert Storm Media Group all the way over in sunny Florida, you can do any one of the following.

1. Like our Facebook page and let us know you did via a comment there or here – (One entry)

2. Share this post using one of the buttons below, and post the linkback in the comment box so we know who you are – Your name gets entered once for every social media button you use, so share using as many of the ones listed. (Limited to one entry per button, not # of times shared)

3. Leave a comment in the box below to let us know why you like this post (repeat comments by readers will be counted as one entry)

The winner will be announced on Sunday December 14, 2014 and will be entered in our December Delights Bumper Draw !

-*-

 ______________________________________________________________

anneblog

 Anne is a fiction writer and blogger, and a former hotelier living in the sprawling coastal city of Karachi, Pakistan, with her husband, two kids and a pet fish. A city girl at heart, she likes her coffee strong, books always within arm’s reach, perfumes by the boatload, music of the old school variety, beaches sans the crowds, cozy cafes early in the mornings, and intimate encounters with Jack Daniels on Saturday nights.

On Deranged Writers, Anne writes her personal blog Eight in the Morning, and the humorous feature Pillow Talk.

Follow Anne on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and Pinterest.

______________________________________________________________

 

12 thoughts on “Holiday Destination Wish List: A Big Apple Christmas”

  1. “The city seen from the Queensboro Bridge is always the city seen for the first time, in its first wild promise of all the mystery and the beauty in the world.” The Great Gatsby.

    I have been to the Big Apple a number of times now, few during winters too – the city is special. The amalgamation of people, hopes , aspiration and the passion is something else.

    It’s the city which never sleeps – because people are dreaming, working and living it all.

    Winters , especially when the city is engulfed with white layers…is magic.it’s beautiful and we then realize that all they wrote in the novels were all lies…this city is even more beautiful, words can never do justice to it.

    Uncle Santa , you listening- let Queen Anne , have her NY Christmas too- she needs to experience it and pour it on her pages- which is my other wish, besides the obvious ones..

    Love and hugss.

    P.S. Correction it’s out Old town which wears the crown of being financial capital of the world . Yes we have that debate across continents , all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The place looks amazing. My eight year old says mummy let’s go to New York this winter vacation. She says this every time we discuss where to go for holidays. Am definitely going to show her this post. So thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a long wish lisst for visiting places n NY is defo there ah!!! I seriously wish to go there and all places I want to go… I actually love visiting new places and meeting new people and all. This post made me wishing n wanting more to b there at Christmas coz of all the festivity… Annneee!!!! Chalo one day Inn Shaa Allah I will have my dream come true. Thank u for short listing the places. Muaaahhg

    Liked by 1 person

  4. First thing I said when the page opened was a big WOW seeing the header picture..but the places – your list and those pictures you posted – my my, I felt like walking through a fairyland…Oh Anne! Now you have tempted me to visit NY when its Christmas..God knows whether I will be able to do it but You definitely added one to my To do list before I die..;-) And I am sure when I do, my mouth would be hanging open half the time because of its Christmas beauty!! Btw, What’s the significance of ginger bread? I have always seen or read about it in Christmas related stuff…I hope you would be featuring about it in one of the post, if not, can you tell me if there is a story behind it?
    Tweeted!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I graduated in Dec 1999 and my father took us all to NY for Christmas and Millennium. WE reached NY on the 24th of Dec and what a sight it was. It was not a white Christmas, although we were all praying it would be, Also, it was the holy month of Ramadaan and my mom made us fast! but hey, the days were so short it was fun fasting. The doors to Macys would open at 9am and everyone went crazy. The Christmas spirit was all over and of course the Millennium madness too. Watched the ball drop at Times Square.

    Wish I could do all of it again!

    Like

  6. This is my wish too….to visit NewYork at Christmas time. Another fond memory is of course Christmas time in Heidelberg, Germany. The Christmas market is. Sight to behold and the mulled wine and sweet breads unbelievable!!!!

    Like

Leave a Comment

