Christmas Songs Vol. One

Y’all knew I wouldn’t get into the real swing of the holidays till I had me some tunes, right? 😉

I have a ton of Christmas playlists and as I was listening to some of them over the last week or so, I kept thinking “Oh I should add this to a list for the blog! And, this one, and that one, noooo this one, and definitely this one, also this one and where the hell is that special, special one?”

None of them got added to any list, and today I had to start fresh, so if you don’t approve of how much I procrastinate, you can bite my jingle bell.

Anyway, I thought I’d make up a playlist on Youtube, which Chan and I will keep adding to over the next few weeks. You’re welcome to request your favourites too and I’ll be happy to add them in as well.

For those of you who don’t have access to YouTube (because idiotic bans happen to good people) I set up a Grooveshark playlist just for you, so click below to have a listen.
http://grooveshark.com/playlist/December+Delights+Christmas+2014/102771543

Today, we’re kicking off with some old school classics, that I can never do without during the holiday season, and sung by most of my favourites from yesteryear.

I’ll Be Home for Christmas – The Carpenters

https://i2.wp.com/www.richardandkarencarpenter.com/Alb_Christmas%20Collection_1.jpg

Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Neil Diamond

https://i1.wp.com/cps-static.rovicorp.com/3/JPG_400/MI0002/983/MI0002983019.jpg

Blue Christmas – Elvis Presley/Martina McBride

https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQjwUz-PrgcSxB0A9YxufEtDjC7AcVA2jD9Pq1CN6iNpO600uLBqg

White Christmas – Anne Murray

https://i1.wp.com/batzbatz.com/uploads/posts/2010-11/thumbs/1290587282_1289980969_2c9bcc73c1e60b84f2671643e8b.jpg

Jingle Bell Rock – Bobby Helms

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRj_SPM9BBiO2xV1c1vJfJTIQXtr7IIu40NAon08YfcM97nPfR8

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas – Bing Crosby

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51s1iarM5QL._SL500_AA280_.jpg

Winter Wonderland – Dean Martin

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/2e/0b/6e/2e0b6eebb8f04e5692fb4ba03adf1786.jpg

Christmas Medley – Englebert

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQXi8dJXzJFSSReTY3IvvhDfDI_4PkeDUYgtHke83JjvhTeLEBJ

Happy listening, people! Thanks for stopping by, I’m thrilled to have you all here, so huggles and smooches!

xoxo

Anne

P.S. Don’t stop here, keep scrolling. Win something. Enjoy!

*

DECEMBER DELIGHTS HOLIDAY SWAG

WEEK ONE

ENTER DAILY TO WIN

the-wrong-david-kdp-cover-4-e1404223355661

A novelette of wine and woe on France’s Côte d’Azur

For a chance to win this page-turning novelette by the amazing Christa Wojo, you can do any one of the following.

1. Like our Facebook page and let us know you did via a comment there or here – (One entry)

2. Share this post using one of the buttons below, and post the linkback in the comment box so we know who you are – Your name gets entered once for every social media button you use, so share using as many of the ones listed. (Limited to one entry per button, not # of times shared)

3. Leave a comment in the box below to let us know why you like this post (repeat comments by readers will be counted as one entry)

The winner will be announced on Sunday December 07, 2014 and will be entered in our December Delights Bumper Draw !

~~*~~

 

anneblog

 

 

 Anne is a fiction writer and blogger, and a former hotelier living in the sprawling coastal city of Karachi, Pakistan, with her husband, two kids and a pet fish. A city girl at heart, she likes her coffee strong, books always within arm’s reach, perfumes by the boatload, music of the old school variety, beaches sans the crowds, cozy cafes early in the mornings, and intimate encounters with Jack Daniels on Saturday nights.

On Deranged Writers, Anne writes her personal blog Eight in the Morning, and the humorous feature Pillow Talk.

Follow Anne on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and Pinterest.

17 thoughts on “Christmas Songs Vol. One

  1. I appreciate you ladies for coming up with various ingredients of Christmas. The songs reminded me of the songs played in my convent school during Christmas…I never played attention then to the lyrics but the music always made me smile. Thanks for that nostalgic moment!
    Tweeted the link! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Christmas songs have a magical effect …
    can uplift your spirits when in the dumps …
    bring a smile on a sad face …

    There are some songs that I have heard for the very first
    time on your Blog 🙂
    Thank you Anne …

    Liked by 1 person

  3. happy 2nd day of December guys
    thx anne and chan for the playlist
    I am totally new to these songs – while iam typing the comment, iam listening to the first song from your list “i’ll be home for Christmas”
    thx dears
    enjoy the month

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How can any DW play list be complete without Neil Diamond :):)
    And the others, what can I say…memories of years gone by.
    Thank you Anne. Huggles and smooches back.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh Anne I must say all the songs are just beautiful. I just finished listening to all. And while listening I was just transported back home sitting next to the glowing Christmas tree. So Thank you so much for these amazing post.
    every time I get an email alert from DW it’s just makes me smile. So thank you all you lovely days.

    Like

  6. I love Christmas music…my car radio plays it 24×7 after Thanksgiving and you have all my favorites here…..please please add Feliz Navidad to your collection…

    Like

  7. * listening to The Carpenters*

    This tune brings back favourite memories of my childhood when cartoons first exposed me to classical music .

    The piano.. characters gracefully gliding through the motion pictures, the waltz-like moves and (during the festive season) Old Santa Claus with twinkling eyes, grandfather spectacles and a book with an antique cover in his hands as he sits on a dark brown wooden chair by the fireplace..with children peeking around the door in their long flannel nightgowns with wonder and excitement in their eyes..

    From the list of songs, Blue Christmas has always been a favourite of mine. Both by Elvis and Sheryl Crow..

    December is magical .

    Like

Leave a Comment

