Anne, Eight in the Morning, Music

R.E.S.P.E.C.T

Recently during an interview with The Wall Street Journal, one of the things legendary singer/musician Aretha Franklin was asked, was her opinion of some of today’s top female singers.

While there was considerable praise for musicians such as Alicia Keys, Adele, and even the late Whitney Houston, the 72 year old diva didn’t hesitate to show her disapproval when it came to singers Taylor Swift and Nicki Minaj.

For Swift she said (and in classic Aretha form) “great gowns, beautiful gowns.”

On Minaj: “Hmm…..I’m gonna pass on that one!”

Now, I myself happened to hear all about this catastrophe interview on the local radio while driving. It all sounded fascinating, even though I don’t particularly dislike either Nicki Minaj or Taylor Swift (my daughter is a fan of the latter) so I told my children to stfu their noise kept listening.

The lovely radio jockey was beside herself, and kept using the word ‘Respect’ (see how I totally copied what she was doing there in my post title?) so much, I was almost convinced it was as new a word to her as the word ‘fuck’ is to the toddler who repeats their new found word endlessly (and in public) much to their mother’s embarrassment.

So, according to the radio jockey, the well respected Aretha seems to have little respect for the likes of Nicki Minaj and Taylor Swift, and while the RJ can understand why most people would not respect Minaj, she could not for the life of her understand why Aretha was being so dis-respectful of Taylor Swift.

Hence, she added (I am paraphrasing here, and quite painfully) “Aretha Franklin has no respect for Taylor Swift, therefore Aretha no longer deserves respect as a musician.”

No respect for Aretha Franklin as a singer/musician because of her opinion on Taylor Swift.

No.Respect.

R.E.S.P.E.C.T

A.R.E.T.H.A

And, this why I always tell my kids… “Don’t try to be clever, when you don’t know what the fuck you’re trying to be clever about.”

-*-

 

6 thoughts on “R.E.S.P.E.C.T”

  1. And, this why I always tell my kids… “Don’t try to be clever, when you don’t know what the fuck you’re trying to be clever about.”…. This made me chuckle. Whatever happens to individual opinions and choices .

    Going to listen to Aretha and then be all -“it’s a love story”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the last quote was damn right
    I have not listened to the music of the mentioned musicians/singers – hence not commenting much, anne

    Like

Leave a Comment

