Serenade

For a long time, the idea of a man serenading a woman on her balcony, under a star lit sky usually made me laugh. As in a roll-my-eyes kind of laughter, not the giggly aww-that’s-so-cute kind.

I didn’t see the point of someone making a fool of himself just so a woman could flutter her eyelashes and tell herself she was sooo loved.

I mean, really! You don’t croon love songs to a girl unless you’re Jon Bon Jovi.

Or Neil Diamond.

Or Ronan Keating.

By the time I made it to my twenties, I was already quite the hard cynic. But, then I was a tough kid before that too, having been through many downs, and ups which didn’t come by that often.

So, calling myself a romantic was something I never did. In fact, I avoided even thinking I was one, or letting myself think I could be one. There wasn’t much that impressed me, and especially not the hearts and flowers type sentiments, nor the romance novels and movies, or any of that.

Falling in love happened, and so did heartbreak, and I mostly lectured myself to get over it, dusted myself off, chalked it down to ‘experience’ and moved on. Sometimes I faltered and imagined myself at age ninety and still not over that guy. But, hey who doesn’t behave like a blithering idiot over some asshat at some point, right?

Every girl is allowed to make that one big mistake in her life.

Every girl should, in my opinion.

It really helps fine-tune your built-in Jerk Radar.

OK, OK! So, go ahead and make more than one mistake if your radar keeps malfunctioning. You’re allowed to do that too.

Society may judge you, but she’s an envious bitch. Ignore her.

So, back to serenading, which in the world of romance was not my favourite thing. It was high up there on my list of most hated romantic gestures undertaken by guys too chicken shit to climb a balcony.

Not that I wanted anyone to climb up the balcony to my house. – I lived on the fourth level of an apartment building and it was high.

Responsibility for Death By Hormonal Stupidity was not something I needed on my plate.

Imagine my surprise then, when I got home late one evening, took a nice hot shower and was indulging in a little star gazing (yeah right, I was not a romantic) as I hung my towel out to dry on the clothesline…

And, I heard a voice.

Singing.

It’s amazing how you can speak right to my heart.

What? Whose heart? And, who was ruining the lovely quiet evening?

I peeked over the railing.

Without saying a word, you can light up the dark.

Of course, it was late evening, but really? I’m not that fair skinned to light up darkness. Neither am I a neon sign.

He was sitting on a step at the foot of the opposite building where he lived. Muddy, sweaty and rumpled. Obviously just back from a game of either volleyball or football.

With his best friend.

Singing.

What it appeared like… to me.

Which couldn’t be since we were good friends of the buddies kind.

I checked to see if maybe there was some female in the balconies above and below mine. He was quite the renowned flirt and a new flavor each week was common for him. – But, no dice.

Apparently, the serenading was meant for me, either because he was bored or had decided to try drugs that evening.

I glared. – He sang louder.

You say it best, when you say nothing at all.

It was so off-key, I’m sure I heard Ronan Keating loading bullets into a gun so he could shoot himself.

In the mouth.

Doors opened and people appeared on balconies (yes, it was that loud). The best friend was grinning like an idiot and attempting back up vocals.

Psychopath kept butchering the love song.

Try as they may they can never define. What’s been said between your heart and mine.

I was laughing too hard by then to go downstairs and kill him do anything. – Such a spectacle!

It finally ended and he stood up, blew me a kiss and disappeared into the elevator.

Still laughing, I turned to go back inside my room and encountered my mother, who clearly had witnessed the whole thing. She gave me a funny smile and said nothing. – A few years later she told me she’d been very sure at the time that ‘the boy’ was in love with me.

His best friend also told me it was when he too first suspected there were more than just feelings of “friendship” at play.

I still consider the serenading hilarious and downright idiotic, and one of those things friends do when they’re goofing off. Neither one of us imagined it would lead to anything.

But, did it have a romantic undertone to it? – I think it did somewhat.

Because, a number of years later that same best friend was Best Man at our wedding. And, the first song my husband and I chose to dance to on our wedding day was the same song.

Funny how things turn out, right? And, funnier how the subtle touch of romance can and does appear where you least expect it to.

Had I really been a fully hardened cynic, that evening would not have stayed on as a memorable moment years later. Nor would the song continue to hold so much meaning to me (or both of us really.)

I guess deep down inside I’ve always been a bit of a romantic. My husband certainly is one, but not without a good dose of humour which lessens the saccharin sweetness romance can sometimes bring with it.

Still, there is nothing wrong with feeling good, and romance in anything helps make that happen. From a beautiful sunset, a whacky serenade, or a dream wedding, it doesn’t matter… as long as you can and do feel it.

We’re about a month away from Valentine’s Day, so here on DW it’s going to be a celebration of romance in as many forms as we can manage till then.

So, look out for posts under the title Scent of Romance listed on our Celebrations Page.

You are all very welcome to join in with comments, thoughts, your own stories, suggestions and ideas if you wish to help us along.

Thank you for stopping by today.

Much love,

Anne

Song link

29 thoughts on “Serenade

  1. I don’t consider myself a romantic too. I a m a person who prefers action and thrillers to romance. But stil I would like to be looked and talked lovingly…no songs and all.

    Guess everybody has even a little romance at heart

    Like

  2. I too am a cynic when it comes to serenading and can’t keep a straight face when i see it happening to others and practically revolt if it’s done to me. And my husband too is one of those people who can laugh at himself and the situation and say how idiotic it is but still manage to pull off some romance.

    The first time he sang was at a Karaoke bar and this was when we were just attracted to each other and thought each other was cool. It was not directly at me.. per say.. and he sang ” Can’t take my eyes off you” but the way he kept looking at me struck a chord through my fits of laughter. I guess that’s why people in love do all those silly things and in that moment somehow it’s not corny and it becomes sweet an a wonderful memory.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I went a completely awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww for this one! You and your – are super adorable!

    I appear to be a cynic but deep down I adore a romantic gesture , it does good to the heart and the ego. if at the end of it , there is a twinkle in the eye and a goofy smile on my face- it means the effort did extremely well.

    This celebration section is going to be so much fun and so special keep the magic flowing Anne.

    love the love !

    Like

  4. I can’t stop laughing right now. I’m trying to picture everything you wrote and I’m trying really hard to be quiet at the office, and I feel like the yoga guru Ramdev, the heavy stomach breathing (laughing).

    Up until the best man part, I was getting ready to hit the CapsLock key to say “awww”, thinking it would be your husband dearest; after that I started laughing more at how things turned out. Yes, definitely funny how things turn out 😛

    I have only ever had one serenading experience, and in no way was it romantic, but definitely memorable. A couple of years back I went to my cousin’s wedding in India, and at some function there were stalls of food outside. While my cousins were in the next stall, I was at the gol gappa stand, minding my own greedy stomach business, when the guy and his friends at the food stall in front of me, started singing “mere saamney waaley khirki mein, eh chaand sa tukda rehta hai”.
    I smile very easily, very, very easily, in very odd situations. So naturally, I turned around, saw them, and smiled laughingly, and sung the next lines right back haha. My aunt was horrified, but my cousins and I had a good laugh. *Sigh*

    Just yesterday I was at the mall, and while all the Christmas stuff is on sale, the overly priced Valentines Day is already on the display shelves. (So colourfully, cheesily pretty!) Once again, I will be going on the 15th to buy all the chocolates on sale. And a few romance novels. Once again, *sigh*. Oh, and where did you get the picture for this post from? I can’t stop staring at it!

    Is the math genius of yours, by any chance good at writing? Perhaps you can get him to write a nice romance story, since he is a romantic 😛

    Can we have a post about “couples”? Different kinds of them, from matchy lovey dovey couples (grrr) to, I don’t know ________, etc.? That would be fun(ny)!

    On to you now, although you may not be romantic, or, very romantic on the outside, your characters have this delicious tension (and I don’t mean just sexual tension), between them. They have got spunk in them, and I look forward to their “romance life”. I have yet to read a finished romance story of yours, but from the 2 I have started reading so far (NtR and D), and they haven’t even got to love or romance yet, but I enjoy it a lot without cringing. Not sure how to explain it, but I love romance stories where the author isn’t big on the characters’ “ways” to express love, but “how” they do, and how their characters evolve on their way to love; which is why I really enjoy some of Anne Stuart’s novels (mainly ice series).

    I believe it is time for another Saturday sounds post, with songs about luuurve 🙂

    Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  5. Ohso sweet of you to share this Anne. You did send me back in time. Mine is a long story but will keep it short. I didn’t like the guy but he used to try hard to woo me since I was found of ridding horses and his family owned several of them. And I used to take classes with the older brother, but he will always end up asking his brother if he could teach me and since the brother new about his crush used to let him and I used to get annoyed.
    But then I had to shift to another place n I never saw him again. But I guess I did like the attention.
    So thts my story, but looking back It sounds funny.
    Have a nice weekend.

    Like

  6. I totally agree.. Serenading, I think it’s hilarious, who in their right mind does that? To be paagal in one’s pyaar doesn’t mean this much literally..
    So yeah, I can see the fun in your buddy singing and went aww… on reading he was the best man and you had your first dance on the song.
    But, romanticism for me just ends there. I believe in love and romance but singing, serenading, a rose a day, soft toys.. not my types. A sweet gesture or understanding, caring is enough for me.
    So this season, I think will I ever get my chance to commit THE mistake?? L’amour (sigh)!!

    Like

  7. Aww.. So romantic !
    It was such a cute story of your life… Loved it !
    Its just even when you are not a romantic person , if someone does something romantic for you , it just warms your heart and adds to your list of ‘never forgetting memories’ in your mind…

    I am a sucker for all thing romantic ! Would love to read more of romance !

    Like

  8. I can’t stop laughing right now. I’m trying to picture everything you wrote and I’m trying really hard to be quiet at the office, and I feel like the yoga guru Ramdev, the heavy stomach breathing (laughing).

    Up until the best man part, I was getting ready to hit the CapsLock key to say “awww”, thinking it would be your husband dearest; after that I started laughing more at how things turned out. Yes, definitely funny how things turn out 😛

    I have only ever had one serenading experience, and in no way was it romantic, but definitely memorable. A couple of years back I went to my cousin’s wedding in India, and at some function there were stalls of food outside. While my cousins were in the next stall, I was at the gol gappa stand, minding my own greedy stomach business, when the guy and his friends at the food stall in front of me, started singing “mere saamney waaley khirki mein, eh chaand sa tukda rehta hai”.
    I smile very easily, very, very easily, in very odd situations. So naturally, I turned around, saw them, and smiled laughingly, and sung the next lines right back haha. My aunt was horrified, but my cousins and I had a good laugh. *Sigh*

    Just yesterday I was at the mall, and while all the Christmas stuff is on sale, the overly priced Valentines Day is already on the display shelves. (So colourfully, cheesily pretty!) Once again, I will be going on the 15th to buy all the chocolates on sale. And a few romance novels. Once again, *sigh*. Oh, and where did you get the picture for this post from? I can’t stop staring at it!

    Is the math genius of yours, by any chance good at writing? Perhaps you can get him to write a nice romance story, since he is a romantic
    😛
    Can we have a post about “couples”? Different kinds of them, from matchy lovey dovey couples (grrr) to, I don’t know ________, etc.? That would be fun(ny)!

    On to you now, although you may not be romantic, or, very romantic on the outside, your characters have this delicious tension (and I don’t mean just sexual tension), between them. They have got spunk in them, and I look forward to their “romance life”. I have yet to read a finished romance story of yours, but from the 2 I have started reading so far (NtR and D), and they haven’t even got to love or romance yet, but I enjoy it a lot without cringing. Not sure how to explain it, but I love romance stories where the author isn’t big on the characters’ “ways” to express love, but “how” they do, and how their characters evolve on their way to love; which is why I really enjoy some of Anne Stuart’s novels (mainly ice series).

    I believe it is time for another Saturday sounds post, with songs about luuurve 😀

    Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  9. Wow Anne, that’s a great idea! celebrating love! You know something? I am not still back from holidaying…Thanks to the posts you people made..I had taken it seriously, celebrated, enjoyed, pampered myself, still pampering. holidays coming to an end by next week. And now when I see this spirit of romance…I am hopeful and looking forward to this V day! 🙂

    It was so funny to read this one..The humour and bits of your real life experience..the way you presented it..had me ROFL..Romance is beautiful and I belong to the giggling so cute category when I come across such serenades. Sigh! but I am unlucky to receive such gestures.hence while reading this, I felt happy and wistful…I wish 2014 will change things and brigten my life! fingers crossed..Looking forward to more posts like this..

    Like

  10. I am, no scratch that, I WAS a complete hearts and flowers, Mills & Boon kind of romantic in my teens. And Neil Diamond serenading me…oh my god. Swooning would be putting it mildly. I’d probably have needed smelling salts to revive me!!
    And while no one ever did serenade me, I did have a boyfriend who once put me on the back of his bike and rushed me off to witness the beauty of a rising moon. It was the most romantic gesture anyone had ever made for 16-year-old me. But the Jerk Radar eventually overrode that little memory…
    Then I met my future husband whose idea of romance was taking me for a horribly scary movie on our second date…I think he needed to hold hands more than I did 🙂
    I love him beyond life, I promise I do. But he is certainly no romantic. And thank god he hasn’t attempted to serenade me under any balcony. The real estate rates in the neighborhood would’ve fallen drastically. He can’t hold a tune beyond Line 2! Seriously. On the few occasions that he does sing to me, his daughter gently says “Dad why don’t you just recite the words? Like poetry?” And then she leaves the room before things get too bloody!

    Anne your story is adorable. And I’m glad it had a happy ending for both of you. Imagine that poor boy living across the street and pining away for you! :):) And that song continues to be one of my favorites.

    I’m always ready to celebrate romance, so bring it on in spades.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. That was so cute … I had no one serenading me however torturous that may have be … but I do remember a boy opposite our house who used to always try to catch my attention by imitating everything I did in my house … in summer we kids used to sleep up on the terrace at times so even he started doing the same … I would lie down and so would he … I would get up so would he … I would roll up the chick and promptly he would do the same … this went on till we grew a bit older as I think he was too scared to befriend me and then we went off to study in our various universities and now I don’t know where he is …
    It all sounds so silly now when I look back … but cute enough not to be forgotten 😉 Cheers to Love and Silliness !

    Like

  12. You, my dear, are one lucky girl (touch-wood)!! And loved the way you wrote it….made me go all awwwwwwv (which, by the way, doesn’t happen very often!)

    Like

  13. much sorry for being late my sync was off n I didn’t get any notification. Ur way of describing events n things is awesome. … difficult it might b to believe or may b not I am total romantic person every stupid romantic thing is an awee for me but I haven’t fallen in love yet and haven’t committed any mistake lol…. hai walking in moon light or in fog or in rain etc loved it…. aweee so ur best frnd was flirting wid u… I really love ur these posts really

    Like

  14. I think it was cute considering guys usually don’t do sappy stuff because they are all “macho” and takes a lot of guts to serenade a girl ,knowing he would end up being ribbed by friends for a long time…so ya it was sweet 🙂
    I just wanted to let DW to know I Will come back soon and read all the stories and musings so to please not block me out…summer school’s hectic along with volunteer work…thanks!

    Like

  15. Skeptic, perhaps not, but quite definitely an “open to laughs” personality, and someone who did that would be on my best friend’s list in a second …

    it indeed is allowed, that one big mistake. Let’s hope mine isn’t marriage :p

    Like

  16. 🙂 Sweeeeet memory!
    I have a similar one.. ones. Though it still happens so they’re not only recollections of younger carefree sweet days :p My friend sings to me! Nice songs! Reeallyy well.. in his sweet melodious voice (X infront of anyone n everyone n whn it’s jus us. Not completely in a romantic manner.. cuz smtms he’s just singing for himself 😛 Aaaaaand me being so much kinder sing back XD not to anyone in particular… but just cuz otherwise won’t he look stupid… ? So yeah I sing back in my horrifying very very bad grating screechy voice completely off-key n tuneless… I know it’s that bad when I’m mercilessly at it even if I have to lalalalala most of the song not remembering the lyrics even remotely at tht moment ((= And that too with complementary moves n hand motions n head bobbing ;p
    I would LOVVVE LOVE LOVE to have a crazy singing man under my window singing adam levine tunelessly n mercilessly n still oh so beautifully XD
    Thank youuu for sharing your mush n amusing n beautiful memory! It brought me a smile! N a craving for smth sweet :p

    Like

  17. Its great to know the romantic ‘idiot’ did strike your heart eventually, the serenade may have been the harbinger of change from a buddy to something else. If one is not very confident about singing, even quoting from songs or poems also sometimes works.

    I remember this guy from college who is to write sonnets from songs on my desk, my friend used to reply in kind. I think he was more taken by the replies than anyyhing else. Needless to say he was not the one I married!

    Like

  18. No one to appreciate serenading of any kind, no sir!! And definitely not off-key.. the music teacher in me would probably walk right down and help him with intonation.. kee hee.. 🙂
    Your post did force me to wonder…. do we appreciate the risks [of all kinds – emotional, spiritual,…] we take when we fall in love? Is that what it is? Does it matter WHO takes the risk? Right alongside these questions, I wonder if not all risks are equal.. you know? Is a goofy serenade equal to a full fledged declaration – either in person or in a written form?
    I am not sure if I know the answers to these questions… perhaps your writings will cast some light….:)
    Truly enjoyed your writing..
    –Mirabell [IF]

    Like

  19. I have never had anyone singing to me, to claim that they like me. Always wanted someone to do that ! Maybe I am more romantic than I think I am 🙂 But picking the same song for your first dance with that guys as Best man is cruel !

    Like

Leave a Comment

