O Come All Ye Faithful

Exactly a week away from the day.

So, it’s time to not just shop, eat, wrap presents and decorate…

But also to kick back and have some fun.

soc1Welcome all ye faithfuls

No Nog, No Snog

Probably the most popular and also most traditional of Christmas drinks, Eggnog is a sweet creamy milk and egg concoction sprinkled with nutmeg and/or cinnamon. It is a drink that is passed around liberally on Christmas Eve in many homes (and often well before and after Christmas Eve too.)

The great thing about Eggnog is that it can be drunk with or without alcohol spiking it, so most people can and do enjoy it by the jugful.

But, the greater thing about it is you can dash it with just about any strong liquor. Brandy is usually used. Rum and whiskey are also popular additions, as well as vodka, and of course my own personal favourite, some Old No. 7 (bourbon).

drinks2

Hot, Hot, Hot

If you haven’t yet tried a mug of Hot Buttered Rum, then I really don’t know what to say to you except… TRY SOME NOW!

I mean it.

Aside from being a popular Christmas/Winter drink in places like the United Kingdom, Hot Buttered Rum is really just perfect for when it gets too cold out and you just need some warming up. If made right, one should be enough to keep you toasty and mellow for an entire night.

hbr

Mull it All Together

Red wine, sugar and a host of spices. I’m not really a wine drinker, but if it’s around, I can never really resist a glass of some good old fashioned Mulled Wine. – It truly is a winter time classic.

mul

Shots

And, Christmas won’t really be Christmas without at least one Santa Shot. (But, chasers are better.) – Peppermint schnapps, creme de menthe, and some grenadine makes this one really cute and festive drink. Great for chugging parties

santa-shot

This time of year especially, drinks really add so much to the holiday season. It is the season to eat, drink and be all merry, so why not?

I have my special drinks during the season, and some of them are listed above. Eggnog is a must have for me and always on Christmas Eve. That’s when the huz and I wrap the kids presents and get to fully appreciate the holiday without the madness of the rush from weeks gone by, and before the catastrophe which is our living room on Christmas morning.

I haven’t yet poured myself a holiday drink to enjoy this year, and I’m way behind. But, I fully intend to make up for it really, really soon.

If you indulge or just prefer a mug of hot chocolate, it doesn’t matter. This year, we can all clink glasses in spirit (and some with lethal spirits in them.)

As Christmas week is upon us, I will not be online so much. However, if I have something like a nice holiday picture or two to share, I will try to do it in a quick post here on the blog . Otherwise, you will catch Christmas updates from me on Twitter (@HeadOverHeels_A)

So, till then, I wish you all a very healthy, happy and peaceful Christmas, Happy Holidays, and a prosperous New Year.

And, thank you for being such a wonderful part of this blog community. This place really would not be half as much fun without you all.

Much love to you and yours this season.

Anne

*

Song Link

If wishes were bottles, this would be my tree!

(Stop laughing old readers.)

1460284_10151857167086840_936084111_n(1)

Christmas Playlist

19 thoughts on “O Come All Ye Faithful

  1. Wow lady! you never cease to amaze me…when cakes are done, you have opened the bottles! πŸ™‚ That was quite a list, am coming across many of them for the first time and truth be said, I found the whole post very enlightening. The Christmas spirit which I knew was outdated, and you (deranged four) gave a wonderful meaning to the whole Christmas season itself with lots of love and cheer,spirit and presents, decorations, cakes and now toasting drinks. Well, if I am allowed to choose I will go for Mulled wine (it looked and felt yummy) and Hot Buttered Rum.

    If you indulge or just prefer a mug of hot chocolate, it doesn’t matter. —- The mention about the hot chocolate reminded me of my wonderful nights during my Japan days. Once back in India, hot chocolate went with the wind – its either tea or coffee…Sigh!

    This year, we can all clink glasses in spirit (and some with lethal spirits in them.)—- Loved this line! Anne, this is what makes you special, even though you are a private person, the cheerful spirit you share, making everyone feels like they are home and together and having a wonderful time.. that’s wonderful…Thats so nice! I dunno how to explain but I guess you understood what I am trying to say.

    Will add you in twitter, my id is dr_athulya. Please accept.

    Love,
    Wishing you a wonderful vacation! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Cheers …
    had to immediately google for the recipe of “Hot Buttered Rum” …

    Ingredients
    1 stick unsalted butter, softened
    2 cups light brown sugar
    1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg
    Pinch ground cloves
    Pinch salt
    Bottle dark rum
    Boiling water

    Directions
    In a bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and salt. Refrigerate until almost firm. Spoon about 2 tablespoons of the butter mixture into 12 small mugs. Pour about 3 ounces of rum into each mug (filling about halfway). Top with boiling water (to fill the remaining half), stir well, and serve immediately… (hope this is a good recipe)

    and a hug for you Anne … and “Merry Christmas”

    Like

  3. hmmmm I haven’t had any of da above lol but had fun reading it as usual so the Christmas posts r ending? I loved dem all enjoyed reading thwm n becoming a part in celebrations just like a family. Thanx for sharing them
    love n hugs
    xx

    Like

  4. I hate when this pops up when I am about to travel, still I will click that Hot chocolate mug with you and wish you loads of Christmas Shots with all the usual merry, bliss and happiness. Love you mostest Anne! Hugs , love and thank you for everything!

    Like

  5. Woow Anne I was just getting used to the cake and you have already started opening the bottle, though its tempting I will stick to hot chocolate.

    Its not that I have never drank but I just don’t anymore. But it was good to read abt some of what used to be my favourite too.

    So Thanks again for making me part of this beautiful Christmas Journey which is full of Magic.

    Merry Christmas and Have a Prosperous New Year.

    Mwaaah

    Like

  6. Uh oh!! The blog is all holiday/ party moods.. you adding up cakes and drinks, tempting pics and snow…it’s just a bad timing for me, I have work crammed days ahead.. and then just a day off on the actual day!
    Well, enjoy dear, have warmest holidays, Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Well, obviously the alcohol is a no no, but damn, do those drinks sound good … going to go find a recipe of that Eggnog, and then make a cup of that warm chocolaty goodness you were evil enough to remind me of (I haven’t had hot chocolate in ages … Never had eggnog) and have that right now, as soon as I clink it with your Hot Buttered Rum!

    *cheers*

    A very, very, very Merry Christmas to you, my lady, and may it be all you hope for and more … keep smiling!

    P.S. We wouldn’t dare smile … after all, the tree looks magnificent, all glowy, and … Jacky, and Danielly

    *walks away, unsmilingly, and collapses to the floor laughing*

    *dashes away hearing your footsteps*

    Like

  8. I never had any of the above. Christmas s so unfair… Santa pls bring me an eggnog this year…..

    And happy holidays to you and ur family.
    Mine starts on Saturday and I am soooo happy

    Like

  9. Some years ago, I was in Germany on a business trip for 2 weeks prior to Christmas and in the city of Heidelberg, they have Christmas fairs and every evening as soon as workday ended, I would traipse off in the freezing cold, sometimes drizzly evenings to go sample the hot mulled wine…..with the jolly Christmas music as background, arts, crafts and food all around me….will never forget the sights and sounds, which you invoked again…..

    Merry Christmas and thank you for sharing this Christmas with us all!!!!

    Like

  10. Hilarious Christmas tree! Happy Holidays sweets ❀ It is so wonderful how you are spreading joy and holiday cheer around by sharing some of the most amazing moments of your celebration. Its amazing to have such an insight to this beautiful festival, especially because I havent really celebrated Christmas in the real sense, and I see how much I have been missing out. I remember Christmas from my younger days were just about looking for Santa in a mall, or having fun Christmas cakes, wishing each other, and also a short vacation for the festival. Now that I live here where Christmas is the biggest festival to celebrate, I love all the little things it brings. Like decorations all over, new warm holiday fragrances in all the candle shops, Christmas jingles to listen wherever you go, tastly baked goods and varieties lined up in baking isles, cute little celebrations at work or friends places (we had a holiday potluck and a Christmas tree decoration contest with gifts and amazing food at work this year). Its just so so beautiful all around, the festivities can be felt in everything.

    πŸ™‚

    Happy Holidays, and in case you're unavailable on that day, Merry Christmas in advance!

    Like

  11. My Christmas used to be limited to visiting shopping malls & restaurants to enjoy the Christmas decorations. But this year reading all your posts I have felt Christmas. Thanks.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family. Enjoy the holidays.

    Like

  12. That Christmas tree is about the best I’ve ever seen! Brought back some lovely memories… πŸ™‚
    Celebrated with mulled wine on Christmas Eve and with good old Jack on the special day. Delightful.

    Like

Leave a Comment

