And, on Every Street Corner, You’ll Hear…

Christmas can never be truly celebrated without plenty of music. From the tunes which drift out of stores on sidewalks to the hum of carols playing in malls, cafes and sometimes blaring out of neighbours’ homes, or even groups of carollers who sing so angelically (and sometimes quite drunkenly) at your doorstep and at church events, music is a constant and massive part of Christmas everywhere.

The tunes at home here begin playing early. The huz isn’t one to leave the stereo off on most days, especially weekends, and come November end, the Christmas carols/songs make an appearance in quite a big way. From religious ones to the more contemporary, he’s not choosy.

I light a lot of wintry scented candles around the house, dim the lights and hum along, letting the nostalgic and warm feelings take over. And, I also sometimes ignore his suggestive looks, because dim lights as I often tell him, don’t always have lead to something.

That little conversation is usually followed by the incessant playing and replaying of Christmas songs featuring lost love and heartbreak, brooding and sulking looks, and the occasional attempt to still cop a feel while a gingerbread scented candle is being lit.

I stay with him because he has good taste in music.

And, because he buys me gingerbread scented candles.

He has his favourite songs, and I have mine, and we share a few favourites too. The kids currently adore the more noisy and upbeat songs, although right now they’re at the age where quick-witted self-made versions of Jingle Bells, Batman smells, Robin laid an egg… are considered to be true Christmas music as well as lyrical genius.

cmusic2

I enjoy all seasonal music, depending on my mood. But, the old greats and classics will always be great, and for me they add a beautiful touch to the season that other music somehow can’t begin to compare to.

So, I have the start of a Christmas song list today, and am adding in a few songs which are ones you’d hear playing in my home if you ever dropped by around Christmas time. It’s a mix of some of my husband’s and my favourites for a variety of reasons.

Silver Bells usually heads my list of favourites all through the season. It’s among the first songs I play to kick start the flow of music at home when the season is upon us, and has been high on my list of most loved Christmas songs since I was a kid.

Gorgeous lyrics:

City sidewalks
Busy sidewalks
Dressed in holiday style
In the air there’s
A feeling of Christmas
Children laughing
People passing
Meeting smile after smile
And on every
Street corner you’ll hear

Silver Bells

How is that not magical, right?

The love for Blue Christmas is equally shared between my husband and me (and often played during mock brooding and sulking moments in an effort to gain sympathy).

It’s such a sweetly sad song, and tugs so wonderfully at the heartstrings. The rendition by Jim Reeves is worth listening to, but we also love the Elvis version (because the king will always be king) and also the one sung by Jon Bon Jovi (but naturally).

Best lyrics in the song:

You’ll be doing all right, with your Christmas of white,
But I’ll have a blue, blue Christmas

Sigh worthy.

Old Christmas Card is hands down one of the most sentimental seasonal song of all time, and an absolute favourite of mine. The lyrics are simple but moving, the music mellow and engaging, and the sentiment underlying the entire song is brilliantly held together all through. If you’re a true romantic at heart, you’ll probably love this bittersweet Christmas love song.

There’s an old Christmas card in an old dusty trunk
And it brings back sweet memories dear to me
‘Tho it’s faded and worn, it’s as precious as the morn
When I found it ‘neath our first Christmas tree.

I thrill with every word, every line
Guess I’m always sentimental ’round this time
Pardon me if a tear, falls among my Christmas cheer
It’s the memory of an old Christmas card.

Makes me tear up, everytime.

I’m adding a few more songs to the list, and will add in more as the days go on. If you have a favourite Christmas song/carol or even more than one, let me know and I’ll gladly put it on the list.

Till then, enjoy the music!

Much love,

Anne

Christmas Music Playlist Link

Christmas-Music

16 thoughts on “And, on Every Street Corner, You’ll Hear…

  1. Anne..Silver Bells brings back memories of my dad and mum singing along to it on Radio Ceylon. God it seems like eons ago πŸ™‚
    On a lighter note, one of my daughter’s favorites was “I saw mommy kissing Santa Claus”. It was an endless source of amusement for our friends when she was little!!!

    Like

    1. PS: glad to read that husbands are the same the world over…thinking, or should I say hoping, dim lights must lead to something. And never ceasing to cop a feel or two or three. Not that I complain too vigorously. Keeps us and the romance young!! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. I remember my dad having a tape of JIm Reeves Christmas carols somewhere and for some reason all of us used to love listening to Jingle bells and one other ,She’ll be coming round the mountain when she comes, and we used to keep rewinding these two till my mom used to scream πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. What a coincidence ! Just this evening was listening to my collection of some of the beautiful songs that you had posted on the Chains series and wondering why you don’t add song links to your stories anymore πŸ™‚

    Having been in a convent for a few years in school … the regular Christmas carols were a big time favourite … there is definitely something about them that uplifts the spirit … will be back …

    Like

  4. Christmas Carols, jingle bells and loads of humming. Ginger bread makes me hungry.

    Dim lights and the suggestive looks. I turn a shade red ! Just how do you manage to be so festive yet so alluring.

    I love Christmas carols, used to sing it with coir, back in school. So my home had the music flowing the entire season. They bring so much cheer, fun and just simple happiness.Simply uplifting.

    London town is rightly dressed up, the music and the beats. Will borrow your playlist and have them playing around during the dinner with friends.

    I so wish we have a white Christmas, it will be just perfect!

    Sending loads of love, cheer and hugs your way.

    And hey, thank you for the memories, moments , everything!

    Like

  5. Well! After a long time, in fact, after leaving convent school, its the first time I am remembering how it was to celebrate Christmas..Your post remind me of White snow, Santa, Christmas tree, decorative lights and now songs….Christmas Card song was touching..

    Btw, I enjoyed reading these lines and it also made me laugh —- “I light a lot of wintry scented candles around the house, dim the lights and hum along, letting the nostalgic and warm feelings take over. And, I also sometimes ignore his suggestive looks, because dim lights as I often tell him, don’t always have lead to something. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I’ve always been a big fan of Silent Night. It was the first song we learned in choir and it has always been my most favourite. Hey, tell the kids about the Harry Potter Christmas song!!

    Have yourself a Harry little Christmas
    A magical Yuletide
    We’re cashing in the
    Highest grossing film worldwide

    Here I am with no equal
    Every sequel, makes more
    Faithful fans who are dear to me
    Will cough it up for me, for sure

    Through the years I’ll be a shining star
    On the highest bough
    I’ll to it as long as
    Puberty allows

    So have yourself a Harry little Christmas, now.

    Like

  7. Back home every street corner there is always Jim Reeves playing from the vendor shops trying to sale and listen to the Christmas carol at the same time. I open my car window to listen to it.

    I will go now and listen to ur collection of Christmas Carol and thanks for sharing with us.

    Like

  8. I love all the classic songs and although there are few modern renditions i have grown to like… in the back of my head i keep going ” they have ruined this song”. Somehow we still remember the exact nuances of the song we heard as children. In all the radio stations they have started playing the jingles and it just makes everything feel so misty even though the sun is shining like hell.

    One song that really makes me weep is.. “I’ll be home for Christmas”. I have never been away from home during Christmas or been alone but every time i hear of it i start tearing up like a woman who’s lover has gone to World War II. It’s the pureness and the simplicity of the lyrics that do it. There was no pretense or any attempt to be intellectual and complicated. It’s straight from the heart and it hits the mark every single time.

    My all time favourite..

    Have yourself a merry little Christmas
    Let your heart be light
    From now on
    our troubles will be out of sight
    Have yourself a merry little Christmas
    Make the Yule-tide gay
    From now on
    our troubles will be miles away

    Here were are as in olden days
    happy golden days of yore
    Faithful friends who are dear to us
    gather near to us once more

    Through the years we all will be together
    If the Fates allow
    Hang a shining star upon the highest bough
    And have yourself a merry little Christmas now

    Like

  9. What a lovely topic….yesterday I set my car radio to a 24×7 Christmas music and it will stay there till Christmas Day. Love Christmas music.

    I have so many favorites…it’s hard to choose. But at top of list is carpenters

    Merry Christmas darling
    chestnuts roasting on an open file

    Feliz Navidad is also right up there…

    Like

  10. I couldn’t help the grin from appearing on my face reading abt his meaningful glances towards u when u lit scented candles well lol… n loved reading abt all these Christmas songs n preparation it really feels like we r a part of ur celebration n sitting somewhere in ur lounge …. loved it
    hugs n love
    xx

    Like

  11. thx for writing and sharing such a beautiful post anne
    I am not a fan of songs – so I don’t have much knowledge about them
    but defo i have heard lot of Christmas carols in my school and I always love them
    all your posts on Christmas brings back my memories in school – nostalgia
    thx anne

    Like

Leave a Comment

