Snot, Sniffles & Saturdays

I am sure most of you are wondering what is with these “Whispered Monologues”, well it was my first blog and i am loathe to part with it and it’s also my means of expressing myself *gasp*… yes i do that sometimes. So when i want to just ramble i whisper my monologues.

I know i am late on an update and its being written and re written ( that’s another one of my traits) and on top of it i seem to have caught the cold or more likely the bubonic plague because i have done nothing but sneeze and spew snot all over the place for the last three days.

Some of you may know me a little and of my writing style but for others who are new i am basically a history buff and a avid dreamer. I write a lot in my head and not so fast on the laptop. I am also painstaking when it comes to research and sometimes annoyingly so, therefore you have to be patient.

Like most of the really good writers  i too started out reading. From a very young age and for me it was this ability to be a mental traveler that allured me. I would devour books, one a day at most. I would rush home after school, immediately finish my homework and settle down with a book and try and finish it in lightening speed before my mother came and yelled at me to go to sleep so i will get up on time for school next day. There was no greater joy than to get lost in their world. To be one of the Famous Five solving little mysteries, Nancy Drew the super sleuth and then graduating to the heavier stuff like Austen, Dickens, Shakespeare, Elliot, Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Wharton and when i first read the Bronte’s i thought i had died. Wuthering Heights continues to be the most haunting book for me and the thought that this was written by a woman who lived in isolation just shook my world. It showed me another dimension of what dark deep passions and truly blurred lines meant. It also showed me the power of imagination. It does not have to be science fiction or mythical world but this space between a man and a woman, between love and hate, obsession and madness what depths these words carry. And what a world you could create simply from one concept.

I remember watching “The Namesake” a few years back and smiling as they quoted Gogol.  It’s true you can be in Victorian England,in the Yorkshire moors, in the spaceship, in the middle of the Amazon without moving an inch. And the greatest gem of it all the life experiences you learn through all these characters.

I usually re read books and as for the characters i first try and read it without judgement, i want to see what the author is trying to say. This is not so easy because your mind is screaming ” but … but… no he can’t, surely not” and all that nonsense. But what i found is when i don’t judge and don’t go in with pre conceived notions is when you see the true beauty. Then i apply myself into the situations that character goes through and  i wonder, what would i do if i were in his/ her place… would i make the same choices? am i so different?

This is the greatest learning for me .  You experience and learn something that you would normally would never get a chance to experience. And another interesting thing is, your view changes. I remember my Literature teacher telling me when i was reading Gone with the wind for the first time… she said” Read it now in your teens, then in your twenties and thirties and forties and fifties… and you might feel differently about each of the characters. What you think is stupid now will be revealed in a new light”. And she is absolutely right. And she is absolutely right. I have read it about twenty times already and its much more different now in my thirties than when it was when i first read it. I look at those characters very differently and to this day no other book has come close to it’s matchless ending.

This is why i ended up writing.  It’s like you have these characters that have so much value, like gemstones and you put them on a white piece of paper and you shine a light on them and they all gleam. But as you move the light different facets catch the light some parts shine and some are in darkness and depending on where you move the light to you see something different and sometimes through their very core. The light and the darkness are both part of one it’s the angle that you look at which creates the dimension. Sometimes you cant keep staring at it as it blinds you, you need to step away and come back and things are revealed in a new light.

When I start I usually don’t have a set plan  or an elaborate plot or a great ending in mind. There are these characters and they want to tell a story. All i do is take my reader and put them beside them on the white paper and i just keep moving the light and watch the magic happen.

11 thoughts on “Snot, Sniffles & Saturdays

  1. Chani, good to see that you are working on Whispered monologues, its one of my favorite stories. I was wondering what happened to the story, you have left at an interesting junction. your research does show its beauty in the way you present ths backdrop for the story. In fact today while traveling, inflight travel magazine had a feature on Ranthambore and I recalled Rafeh and Khushi and their forest adventure with the tiger.

    Regarding your concept on reading, I agree to most of your sentiments in this update and I find similarities too.
    “I write a lot in my head and not so fast on the laptop” – this statement made me smile, don’t we all do it?
    ” this ability to be a mental traveler that allured me” I loved the way you expressed this sentiment. Truly we get lost in another world. Do you realize that your story also has the same effect? I sometimes get lost in the magical story you write, I walk along the palaces as if I am a princess..power of imagination is truly amazing but to word those imaginations and convey to another person with such a brilliance is a talent! God has blessed you with such a talent, Good luck!

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your whispered monologues..it throws light on your passion for reading and writing..And i absolutely agree with you that re-reading books always gives new dimension to the characters and the story.

    It is quite ecstatic to know that am having the privilege to read the 4 best sought out writers of IF, that too in a single blog!! 🙂

    Like

  3. ” as for the characters i first try and read it without judgement, i want to see what the author is trying to say. This is not so easy because your mind is screaming ” but … but… no he can’t, surely not” and all that nonsense. But what i found is when i don’t judge and don’t go in with pre conceived notions is when you see the true beauty. Then i apply myself into the situations that character goes through and i wonder, what would i do if i were in his/ her place… would i make the same choices? am i so different?”

    This is my Chani.

    Generous and she doesn’t even know it! ❤

    Like

  4. Loved ur whispered monologues completely Chani…

    Yes now within 4yrs…I myself see gone with wind…differently…so much has changed now..

    It feels really good to read from u wonderful guys..:D

    Like

  5. I am really sorry at myself for not having the pleasure of reading your work and I am extremely eager to dive into your word.
    My love affair, like you began at a very young age, used to rush and creep into Dad’s library and spend ours imagining myself in the world of Blyton ,Nancy Drew etc. Ironically I started first with Dickens ,Thackeray, the Bard, Bronte before I wad charmed by Austen and the famous five. The world of words became my great escape and my first friend.

    I feel like saying “me too”, I love revisiting books fro time to time. Some of my must read after few years books are- Anna Karenina, Idiot, Emma, Tale of two cities , Oliver Twist and many more. But the one that have always stayed with me is Gone with the wind. I tend to develop a new perspective everytime I meet Scarlet O’Hara and Rhett Butler.

    I Know already that I will be lost in the world you would create, cannot wait!

    Oh! and please take care of your health, sending loads of wishes and love!

    Like

  6. Wuthering heights was one of my favourite reads in my teenage days. Haunting and despairing, it touched a nerve.
    I love how you have explained how age causes perception to differ. Right down to books and characters.
    Hoping to read more of your whispered monologues!

    Like

  7. ‘I usually re read books and as for the characters i first try and read it without judgement, i want to see what the author is trying to say. This is not so easy because your mind is screaming ” but … but… no he can’t, surely not” and all that nonsense. But what i found is when i don’t judge and don’t go in with pre conceived notions is when you see the true beauty. Then i apply myself into the situations that character goes through and i wonder, what would i do if i were in his/ her place… would i make the same choices? am i so different?’
    This is sooo mee!! I am zero zilch compared to your intellect n talent in writing and understanding and so it’s funny to me how I have this in common with you Xp
    I try so hard to understand n learn the characters n scenes from author’s n his characters’ viewpoints.. I make them my own the good and th bad n the grey n absorb it all… it’s sooo much funn!! It’s only when my boy towers me n after several failed attempts to hush him away n him snatching away my cell/ laptop is when I break away from that spell Only to create my own little amateur like tale or smtms an extension to that story..
    Okay I’m babbling away n prbbly making you nauseous with my unintelligible infact crap talk
    I juststst loveddd ths post!

    Like

  8. ” And she is absolutely right.”
    yes indeed! and that for,sometimes, i’m afraid to re read one of them, afraid to not broke the spell!

    Like

Leave a Comment

