Chani, Misc., Whispered Monologues

Why I Love Rumi…

Actually I don’t know. I have read many books and all sorts of poetry, even studied it but somehow the first verse I read of Rumi took me to another dimension. Mind you I read a translation. This then took on an obsessive turn. I started trying to learn Urdu as a way to learn ancient Persian, even tried to get my Urdu speaking friends to send me children’s books so I can learn to write the alphabet. I fell in love with calligraphy and started doodling.

The more I read the more i began to feel. And it was as if i was in a dream everything was with a heightened sense. Romance, words, food, poetry everything was sublime. I was no longer happy with just reading and experiencing these feelings his words evoked, i was brimming with dreams. I was feeling so much , imagining so many things and i couldn’t keep it inside me anymore and this is how i ended up writing.

~~~

“In your light I learn how to love. In your beauty, how to make poems. You dance inside my chest where no-one sees you, but sometimes I do, and that sight becomes this art.” 
― Rumi

9 thoughts on “Why I Love Rumi…”

  1. Glad you are here as I heard about your work but couldn’t read them as you had removed them before I joined IF 😦

    I Would love to read your work. Thanks a lot.

    Like

  2. Happy to know that you are alive Chani. I was thinking of mailing you for sometime now. Sadly never got to do that due to the hectic schedules or when free, my mind is so lost and the thought to mail you slips away from conscious. What happened to WOD? will you come back to write that wonderful piece of literature?

    About Rumi, I have noted that in WOD, almost all updates has a quote from Rumi’s. Your passion to learn Urdu to get deep with Rumi’s writing shows how much you are tangled in his world. And the outcome of that resulted in some magical works of yours which we readers are delightfully happy to read and comment on. Looking forward for more…

    Like

  3. I love Rumi too. Something so soulful about his words.
    And still after all this time, the Sun has never said to the Earth “You owe me”. Look what happens with love like that. It lights up the sky.
    ~Jalal-ud-Din Muhammad Rumi

    Like

Leave a Comment

